• Welcome to https://albinowners.net, the new home of Albin Owners Group!
• You will need to log in here, and you may want to bookmark this site. If you don't remember your password, use the I forgot my password link to reset it.
• All content has been transferred from our previous site. Digests will be enabled soon.
Contact Us if you have any questions or notice a problem. If you're not receiving our email, include a phone number where we can text you.

INTRO/NEW BOAT - and new to Albin (some early questions)

tconnelly254
First Mate
First Mate
Home Port: New York Harbor

INTRO/NEW BOAT - and new to Albin (some early questions)

Post by tconnelly254 »

Hi all,

I've been observing here for a few months, but finally joined, as boating season is getting close. Towards the end of 2019 I purchased a 2002 Albin 35 TE Flybridge.

I am upgrading from my first-ever boat, which was an old late-80s Sea Ray Sundancer. So this is a big, big upgrade in many ways.

So ... it's nice to meet you all!

I have some early questions for the experts here, if anybody would be so kind as to offer some thoughts.

1. Moving from a 27' single screw gas engine, to a flybridge helm, much larger, diesel, twin engine vessel gives me great excitement but also great anxiety. I know I will have more control than ever, but creature comforts like docking by myself, or filling up the tank by myself seem to be a thing of the past. Any advice from others who have made a similar step up in size/layout/flybridge?

2. In May I will be taking at least a week and taking the vessel from it's current storage in Marion, MA to NY Harbor, making stops along the way. Thinking Martha's Vineyard, Block Island, Montauk/East Hampton/Sag Harbor. Any tips on must-see stops along this voyage? Any preparation tips on a maiden voyage in a new vessel??