• Welcome to https://albinowners.net, the new home of Albin Owners Group!
• You will need to log in here, and you may want to bookmark this site. If you don't remember your password, use the I forgot my password link to reset it.
• All content has been transferred from our previous site. Digests will be enabled soon.
Contact Us if you have any questions or notice a problem. If you're not receiving our email, include a phone number where we can text you.

Fish finder transducer location

jgolm

Fish finder transducer location

Post by jgolm »

I presently heve two thru-hull transducers on my Albin 28TE 2005 and neither work at cruise 16-18kts. They are both Raymarine, one is just for depth and the other is connected to a new Raymayine digital finder. They work at 12kts. Does anybody have any suggestions?

Jim Golm
med2alfa

transducer location

Post by med2alfa »

I'm no expert here, but what experience I do have is this: 1) If the boats bow angle increases to a point where the returning transducer signal cannot be read, you will lose the signal. 2) If the location of the transducer is in a flow of aeriated water you will lose the return signal as well. I have also had intermittent signal return at slower speeds and complete loss at higher speeds when the face of the transducer is covered in marine growth. Cleaning the transducer cleared up this problem.
My experience has been with transom mounted transducers.
chiefrcd
Gold Member
Gold Member
Home Port: Deltaville, VA

Post by chiefrcd »