• Welcome to https://albinowners.net, the new home of Albin Owners Group!
• You will need to log in here, and you may want to bookmark this site. If you don't remember your password, use the I forgot my password link to reset it.
• All content has been transferred from our previous site. Digests will be enabled soon.
Contact Us if you have any questions or notice a problem. If you're not receiving our email, include a phone number where we can text you.

New Member: gtowens

New members introduce themselves to the group here.
gtowens

New Member: gtowens

Post by gtowens »

I have a 1996 Albin 28 TE with a 300 Peninsular with a Hurth marine gear. I have put 300 hours on her since I purchased her in September 2005. I have had good luck and performance with this setup, but I have had some of the same experiences that have been posted on this site. I can't believe it has taken me two and half years to find this website. It is great and I am glad to be a part of it now.

We live in Birmingham, Alabama and boat in the Pensacola, Florida and Orange Beach, Alabama area.

My winter time maintenance will involve changing the stuffing box to a dripless packing. I guess I am going to remove the engine. I can change any corroded fittings on the bottom of the engine and repaint the bilge while I have the engine out.

Travis
Sea Boxer
1996 Albin 28TE
RicM
Gold Member
Gold Member

Oil Change

Post by RicM »

Welcome to the site, it's a great place to learn about your boat. I am not that familiar with the Peninsular engine, but I know that if I was doing the work you are talking about I would definitely put an oil change system on the motor sump while I had access to it.
Ric Murray

Big Time, 42' 1993 Jersey Sportfish
Formerly owned Time After Time, 2003 28TE
Wickford RI
Denis
Gold Member
Gold Member

Post by Denis »

Welcome to the site.