• Welcome to https://albinowners.net, the new home of Albin Owners Group!
• You will need to log in here, and you may want to bookmark this site. If you don't remember your password, use the I forgot my password link to reset it.
• All content has been transferred from our previous site. Digests will be enabled soon.
Contact Us if you have any questions or notice a problem. If you're not receiving our email, include a phone number where we can text you.

1996 6bta and 2007 QSB 5.9 engine questions

GGAlbinTherapy
Mate
Mate
Home Port: Sausalito

1996 6bta and 2007 QSB 5.9 engine questions

Post by GGAlbinTherapy »

Hello Folks,

A newbie here on the hunt to become a curator of an Albin 31. I’m currently running a 21 BW Outrage, and I’m getting a little tired of dressing like I’m going snow skiing in the middle of the Summer when I go fishing out the Golden Gate.

In my hunt, I’ve come across a 1996 with twin Cummins 6bta?? 250 HP engines with approximately 1100 hours each, and a 2007 with the twin QSB 380 HP with upwards of 3800 hours on them.

I would prefer a non QSB due to not wanting to be dependent on sensors properly working all the time, but beggars can’t be too choosy.

So I would invite any opinions on the 1996 builds and the reliability of the older Cummins engines. Please offer opinions on whether 3700 hours on the QSBs are a lot of hours. The QSBs have little paperwork on maintenance, but they look relatively in good shape, but I would like to avoid $40,000-70,000 worth of engine repairs.

I know, I know….I should had bought Irish Wake with its mechanical single 8.3!!!

Any opinions on the above would be very welcomed,

Bests to all,

Steve
Waha1
Deckhand
Deckhand
Home Port: Sausalito, CA

Re: 1996 6bta and 2007 QSB 5.9 engine questions

Post by Waha1 »

Hey Steve. Lots of info on both these motors out there. I have some experience with both the Mechanical and Electronic Motors. Im in the SF Bay also. Feel free to contact me to discuss if you like.
Andy